Monday, 9 May 2016

Dylan's Gospel

The Brothers & Sisters - Dylan's Gospel - SEQUEL Records NEMCD 404
Originally released on ODE Records 1969

01 - The Times They Are A-Changin'
02 - I Shall Be Released
03 - Lay Lady Lay
04 - Mr. Tambourine Man
05 - All Along The Watchtower
06 - The Mighty Quinn
07 - Chimes Of Freedom
08 - I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
09 - My Back Pages
10 - Just Like A Woman

This is not just another Dylan-sploitation album, this really is something special. The songs of Bob Dylan sung by a soulful gospel choir, and not just any old choir. The 27 strong choir featured in its numbers such soul luminaries as Clydie King, Merry Clayton, Patrice Holloway and Gloria Jones. The musical backing and arrangement is handled by Gene Page and is kept simple leaving the choir to the fore. The result is wonderful and gives a whole new dimension to Dylan's music. Don't take my word for it though, listen for yourself........

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments welcomed, what do you think?.........

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...